We've since clapped eyes (and in some cases hands) on fresh-faced 2021 flagship phones from the makers in question, the like Xiaomi Mi 11 and Samsung Galaxy S21, S21+ and S21 Ultra, but we're yet to experience Realme's new top dog - the Realme GT.

First, if you're keen to rewatch the event, Realme scheduled the GT's Chinese launch stream for Thursday, 4 March at 14:00 local time. That was 06:00 in the morning GMT, 11:30 IST, 01:00 EST or 22:00 PST (on 3 March).

To watch you'll need to head on over to this dedicated Weibo post, where the stream is running on repeat, for the time being. It's as yet unknown if Realme will host any foreign-language streams of the launch but as of right now, it's only available in its native Mandarin. We'll update this article if this changes.

As for the phone itself, we already knew much of what the GT was said to offer; with a Snapdragon 888 at its heart, at least 8GB of LPDDR5 RAM, 128GB of fast UFS 3.1 storage, 5G, WiFi 6E, a 64Mp primary camera, 65W fast charging, a 120Hz AMOLED display and a local starting price of CNY¥2,799 (approximately £310, €360 or US$435) now all confirmed.

The phone comes in three finishes at launch: glass-backed silver and dark blue variants, as well as a 'Racing Yellow' model, which features a vegan leather back in yellow with a black stripe running down from the camera module.

Locally, the GT reportedly received over a million reservations and is now on pre-order, set to launch in China on 10 March. We're unsure about the company's release plans for the phone outside of China. We'll keep you in the loop when we learn more on that front.

Related stories for further reading