When is the Tony Hawk remaster release date?

The remaster of the first two Tony Hawk games comes out on 4 September 2020.

If you pre-order the game you'll get access to the Warehouse level from the first game from 14 August, before the game releases in full.

What platforms will the new Tony Hawk be on?

The remaster package is confirmed to come out on PS4, Xbox One, and PC (through Epic) when it drops in September.

We'd expect to see it arrive on the upcoming Xbox Series X and PS5 consoles when they launch later in the year, or perhaps get a port in 2021, but nothing has been confirmed as of yet.

Is it a remake or a remaster?

Activision is describing this as a remaster rather than a remake, but it sounds like a pretty comprehensive one. That's no surprise since it comes from Vicarious Visions, the same dev studio that worked on the Crash Bandicoot remaster trilogy, which was also re-built from the ground up.

The game includes both Pro Skater and Pro Skater 2, with all the levels from both the original games, which originally released in 1999 and 2000.

Watch the trailer

Here's the announcement trailer for the new game:

What to expect from the Tony Hawk remaster

(Almost) everything you remember from the first two games will be included here, but given a new lick of paint, with graphics built from the ground-up to look good enough for modern consoles, and tweaks to controls to suit modern controllers too.

There are of course new additions too. For one, multiplayer has been expanded from split-screen to include online multiplayer modes (though couch multiplayer is back too, don't worry). Tricks like revert, technically introduced in the third game in the series, are also included here to fit how you remember the games being as much as how they actually were.

Create-A-Park and Create-A-Skater modes are returning, but both have been expanded and given loads more options - not to mention letting you share your creations online.

Tony Hawk's Pro Skater remaster skater roster

Real-world skaters naturally feature too, with a roster that includes both classic skaters from the original games, and newer pros that have made their name in the time since. Here are the confirmed returning pros:

  • Tony Hawk
  • Bucky Lasek
  • Steve Caballero
  • Geoff Rowley
  • Andrew Reynolds
  • Elissa Steamer
  • Chad Muska
  • Eric Koston
  • Rodney Mullen
  • Rune Glifberg
  • Kareem Campbell
  • Jamie Thomas
  • Bob Burnquist

They've all been digitally re-scanned, which means you'll now be able to play the game with all these legends of the scene as they look now, in their 40s and 50s - including Tony Hawk himself, now 52.

Then here are the confirmed new additions, who will all appear with their signature moves and looks:

  • Nyjah Huston
  • Leo Baker
  • Leticia Bufoni
  • Aori Nishimura
  • Lizzie Armanto
  • Shane O'Neill
  • Riley Hawk
  • Tyshawn Jones

Tony Hawk's Pro Skater remaster soundtrack

We also know what to expect from the soundtrack, which has been commemorated in an official Spotify playlist so you can revisit your favourites without waiting until September. Not every song from the original two games is including though - licensing deals are presumably to blame - with these five songs confirmed to not be re-appearing:

  • Cyco Vision by Suicidal Tendencies
  • Committed by Unsane
  • Bring the Noise by Anthrax & Public Enemy
  • B-Boy Document '99 by The High & Mighty
  • Out With The Old by Alley Life