There are usually six Steam Sales each year: Lunar New Year, Spring, Summer, Halloween, Autumn (for Black Friday), and Winter (for Christmas). They're fairly predictable, but exact dates are only revealed at short notice, which keeps us on our toes.

When is the next Steam Sale?

We're right in the midst of the Steam Summer Sale 2020, which started on 25 June and will end on 9 July at 10am PST / 1 pm EST / 6pm BST.

Those dates mean the Summer Sale overlaps with the Steam Summer Festival, an ongoing event that includes demo drops and other teases for upcoming games that would otherwise have featured in E3 2020 if it had gone ahead.

After the Summer Sale, the next Steam Sale is expected to be the Halloween Sale. In case you can't guess, that's likely to take place around, well, Halloween, so look for it at the end of October.

Best Steam Summer Sale deals

As always there are too many deals to sort through fully, but we've picked out some of our favourites: