You might be desperate to know which Disney Princess you are, or what you'd look like as the opposite sex, but every time you authorise a third-party app to connect to your Facebook account you're allowing it access to your personal data. And as you have probably noticed in the news of late, there's a bit of a hoo-ha over one particular Cambridge Analytica personality test. We explain how to remove that authorisation and secure your account.

If you can't live without knowing whether you should have been born Snow White, Cinderella, Aurora or Belle, you can always allow the permission but then remove it once you have your answer. Do note, however, that deleting the app permissions does not stop them holding the data they already hold on you, and you'll have to contact the developer direct for more information on that. So keep in mind that if you're at all worried about this, sometimes it's better not to click in the first place.

Also note that Facebook has also confirmed that it can track you even if you don't have an account. “When you visit a site or app that uses our services, we receive information even if you’re logged out or don’t have a Facebook account. This is because other apps and sites don’t know who is using Facebook,” said Facebook's product management director, David Baser.

That data includes IP addresses, browser and operating system information, the address of the website or app, cookies and device identifiers, and is used to enhance the company's service and security.

How to log out of quizzes, tests and other Facebook apps

There are two ways to remove your authorisation for third-party apps to access your data.

  • Log into your Facebook account in a browser
  • Tap the question mark icon at the top right of the window and choose Privacy Check-up
  • Tap Next to bypass the first step, then examine the list of apps that have access to your profile
  • Tap the X next to any apps you want to de-authorise
  • Click Next, then Finish

Alternatively:

  • Log into your Facebook account in a browser
  • Tap the down triangle at the top right of the window and choose Settings
  • Select Apps from the menu to the left
  • At the top of the page you'll be presented with a list of apps you're logged into via Facebook. Hover over any of these and tap the X to delete

Stop your friends sharing your data on Facebook

It's not just you that is able to allow apps to see your data. Your friends who are able to see your data also take it with them to improve the user experience with third-party apps. Fortunately you can stop this, too.

  • Log into your Facebook account in a browser
  • Tap the down triangle at the top right of the window and choose Settings
  • Select Apps from the menu to the left
  • Select Edit under 'Apps others use'
  • Deselect any boxes for information you don't want to be shared via your friends' accounts
  • Click Save

The steps we've listed above are also available through the Facebook mobile apps, but to access them you'll need to tap the three lines icon and select Account Settings. 

Read next: How to secure Facebook & Most common Facebook scams

Follow Marie Black on Twitter