Facebook has launched a Snooze button which can quietly mute some of the more enthusiastic posters in your news feed for a short period of time.

We all have those friends. You know the ones. They’ve posted three pictures of their cat today and it’s not even lunch time. You’re certainly going to know when it’s lunch time though, because you’ll get a picture of what’s on their plate as well.

The snooze feature functions just like a snooze button on an alarm clock. If a friend of yours won’t stop squawking, then you can click the Snooze button on their post to quietly mute their content for 30 days.

Is Facebook safe for kids? Read about our take on it here.

How to temporarily mute friends on Facebook

You can access this feature by hitting the options button at the top right of a post, and then selecting Snooze. This is reversible at any point and is a much less disruptive way of controlling content in your feed than unfollowing or even removing friends.

The feature works for groups and pages, and is silent so your friend won’t be offended.

The goal from Facebook here is to give the user “more control” over your news feed, helping to ensure that “the time you spend on Facebook is well spent.”

A blog post from Facebook explains the reasoning for the addition. “We’ve heard from people that they want more options to determine what they see in News Feed and when they see it. With Snooze, you don’t have to unfollow or unfriend permanently, rather just stop seeing someone’s posts for a short period of time.”

Any controls that help us filter our content are always a welcome addition to any platform.