Gamescom: Opening Night Live is the latest new addition to Europe’s most popular annual game event, and while exact details haven’t been confirmed, big announcements have been teased. But what are you to do if you’re not in Cologne? Thankfully, there’s a way to watch Gamescom: Opening Night Live from the comfort of your own home.

Here, we explain when and how to tune in, and also what to expect from Opening Night Live.

When does Gamescom: Opening Night Live start?

Gamescom’s Opening Night Live event is due to take place in the evening of August 19 2019, the day before the hugely popular game show is set to kick off. The action will begin at 20:00 CEST, which translates to:

  • 19:00 BST
  • 11:00 PST
  • 13:00 DST
  • 14:00 EST

How can I watch Opening Night Live from home?

The good news is that you can tune in to the Gamescom 2019 opening night action live via Twitch, alongside the likes of YouTube and Mixer, along with the Gamescom website itself.

We’ve also embedded the livestream at the top of our page to make things easier, so simply bookmark this page and head back on Monday evening to get your Gamescom fill.  

What will be announced during Opening Night Live?

While specific details are yet to be confirmed, Gamescom’s Geoff Keighley has teased that more than 15 publishers are due to appear during the show with new content and announcements. The announcements come from high-profile companies including:

  • 2K Games
  • Activision
  • Bandai Namco
  • Bungie
  • Capcom
  • EA
  • Epic Games
  • Google (Stadia)
  • Deep Silver
  • Private Division
  • Sega
  • Square Enix
  • Sony Interactive Entertainment
  • THQ Nordic
  • Ubisoft
  • Xbox Game Studios

Alongside the headline companies, Keighley has also teased a number of announcements from smaller, indie game studios. Whatever’s planned, it’s set to be an exciting evening that’ll get Gamescom 2019 off to a great start.