Indie publisher Devolver Digital is joining the online E3 replacement event bandwagon, with its own livestream reveal event designed to make up for its usual chaotic E3 'press conference' (we use the term loosely).

The Devolver Direct will be a pre-recorded event airing this Saturday on Twitch, with the promise of trailers, gameplay footage, gameplay reveals, and even 'special guests'.

Knowing Devolver, this will be nothing like other publishers' events, which are mostly done, with just Ubisoft Forward and the first-party Xbox game reveal left to go. Those are all about games - this will be half games, half surreal comedy skit.

Here’s what you need to know about the indie game publisher’s big summer free-for-all.

When is the Devolver Direct event?

The Devolver Direct will take place on 11 July at 12pm PDT / 3pm EDT / 8pm BST / 9pm CEST.

How to watch the Devolver stream

Last year Devolver’s surreal stream was available through the publisher’s YouTube channel, but this year it looks like it will take place on Twitch instead - though with a bit of luck it'll be available on YouTube at some point too.

What to expect

Chaos. And videogames.

“This year will have some updates + release dates on upcoming games and a couple of new games to reveal - all with gameplay,” the publisher said on Twitter, so that’s something at least.

More specifically we can probably expect release dates and/or new footage and details for the likes of Carrion (one of our favourite games at Gamescom 2019), Fall Guys, Blightbound, and Weird West, and clearly we’ll learn about some entirely new titles too, hopefully including some for the PS5 and Xbox Series X.

One of those is Shadow Warrior 3, which was revealed just days ago with a slick teaser trailer and the promise of a 'gameplay reveal' during Saturday's Devolver Direct ahead of its 2021 launch.

As for the bits of the show around the game reveals? That’s anyone’s guess.