For the last few years EA has skipped E3 and instead hosted its own EA Play live event around the same time in Los Angeles. This year is no different, except the event is online-only rather than in-person in LA.

EA Play is Electronic Arts’ major annual press conference, usually held during E3 week and used to announce fresh details on the latest games in franchises including Battlefield, FIFA, Madden, and Star Wars.

E3 itself may have been cancelled thanks to the coronavirus outbreak, but EA is going ahead with EA Play Live. Here's when it is, how to watch it, and what to expect - including updates on FIFA 21, Madden, Star Wars Squadrons, and more.

When is EA Play Live 2020?

EA Play Live takes place on Thursday 18 June. Here's when you can expect the EA stream to begin in your time zone:

  • 4pm PT
  • 7pm ET
  • 12am BST (19 June)
  • 1am CET (19 June)

As you can see, EA hasn't given too much consideration to European audiences in its timing, so you might have to stay up late if you're in the UK or Europe and want to watch along.

How to watch EA Play Live

It probably won't come as too much of a surprise that the event will be streamed on EA's YouTube and Twitch channels. Alternatively you can watch it right here, on the stream hosted by Geoff Keighley's Summer Game Fest:

What will EA announce during EA Play?

EA owns a huge number of massive franchises, so there's a lot that it could tease or show off during EA Play. That makes it hard to predict exactly what will show up, but there are definitely some safe bets.

Expect proper looks at FIFA 21 and Madden 21 for sure, both of which are expected to release on next-gen consoles the PS5 and Xbox Series X.

A look at the next Battlefield game seems likely, and we could also see the new Need for Speed that EA has confirmed it's working on. 

It might be too early for footage from the expected sequel to Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order, but the company might tease it with a logo reveal or similar. Developers Respawn also work on Apex Legends of course, so it's likely we'll see something coming up for that game too.

We also know for sure that we're seeing the first gameplay footage from Star Wars: Squadrons, the upcoming space dogfighting game from EA Motive that was officially revealed with a first trailer this week.

Finally, we're holding out hope for a remastered Mass Effect trilogy for next-gen consoles, though we're less optimistic about a full new game to follow-up on the critically maligned Mass Effect: Andromeda.