Strictly fever is once again sweeping the nation as the BBC announces its 2018 contestants. The 18th series of Strictly Come Dancing is set to begin in September, so here’s everything we know so far about this year's show, including its start date, judges, professional dancers and celebrities.

When is Strictly Come Dancing back?

The exact date of Strictly Come Dancing 2018’s first episode is currently under wraps, but we estimate an early September kick off based on previous years. In 2017, Strictly’s first episode aired on 9 September.

There is a start date for the X Factor 2018, though.

Who are the contestants?

The BBC has been slowly but surely announcing the celebrity line-up for this year’s Strictly Come Dancing.

The first name was unveiled on 13 August as Katie Piper, and since then we’ve seen new announcements every day. The current line-up is as follows:

  • Activist and TV presenter Katie Piper
  • Steps singer Faye Tozer
  • Red Dwarf Actor Danny John-Jules
  • YouTuber Joe Sugg
  • Radio presenter Vick Hope
  • Cricket player Graeme Swann
  • Dr Ranj Singh
  • Pussycat Dolls singer Ashley Roberts
  • TV presenter and journalist Stacey Dooley
  • Comedian Seann Walsh
  • News anchor Kate Silverton
  • Blue singer and actor Lee Ryan
  • Paralympian Lauren Steadman
  • Casualty actor Charles Venn
  • TV presenter and author Susannah Constantine

It looks like that completes the set for this year, although there had been rumours that the following celebrities would be involved:

  • Radio and TV presenter Maya Jama
  • Actress Michelle Keegan
  • TV presenter Scarlett Moffatt
  • Actress Catherine Tyldesley
  • Actor and presenter Les Dennis
  • Actress Rachel Shenton
  • Presenter Piers Morgan
  • Presenter Dan Walker
  • Bake Off Winner Nadiya Hussain

Who are the professional dancers?

Prior to the reveal of the first contestants, the BBC revealed that there are three new professional dancers joining the line-up this year. That’s following the departure of Brendan Cole earlier in the year, as well as Chloe Hewitt.

The new dancers (Graziano Di Prima, Johannes Radebe and Luba Mushtuk) will mean that there are 18 professional dancers this year, which makes it the biggest contest yet.

The 15 dancers we’ve seen on previous series of Strictly and are currently expected to return for 2018 are:

  • AJ Pritchard
  • Aljaz Skorjanex
  • Amy Dowden
  • Anton Du Beke
  • Dianne Buswell
  • Giovanni Pernice
  • Gorka Marquez
  • Janette Manrara
  • Karen Clifton
  • Katya Jones
  • Kevin Clifton
  • Nadiya Bychkova
  • Neil Jones
  • Oti Mabuse
  • Pasha Kovalev

Who are the judges?

Judges for the 16th season are expected to be Darcey Bussell, Bruno Tonioli and Craig Revel Horwood, as well as Shirley Ballas. However, the latter is in question after hinting last year that she might not return for 2018.

How to watch Strictly Come Dancing 2018

As always, Strictly Come Dancing will be shown on BBC One, with pre-recorded shows to begin with followed by lives shows as the competition heats up.

You can watch on your TV as the episodes air, or on BBC iPlayer on most internet-connected devices, whether that’s a laptop, tablet or phone, or perhaps a media streamer or games console. You'll also be able to watch it on BBC iPlayer if you missed the episode and want to catch up.

If you’re holidaying outside of the UK, there are ways to watch BBC iPlayer abroad such as using a VPN (virtual private network) like NordVPN. Find out more about how to do that here.