The Grand National will take place today at 5.15pm BST. It's an annual event that sees up to 40 horses running two laps of Liverpool's Aintree racecourse, which has a total distance of 4 miles and 2.5 furlongs with 30 fences en route.

Broadcast live in the UK on ITV, you can also watch a live stream of the Grand National online at ITV's website or via its mobile app (for iOS or Android). Coverage begins at 1pm BST through to 6.15pm, though the main event does not begin until 5.15pm.

ITV Hub+ offers an ad-free experience at £3.99 per month, with a seven-day free trial. It also can be viewed from outside the UK in EU countries. Unfortunately this applies only to catch-up and not live broadcasts, which isn't helpful if you're wanting to watch the big race live.

An alternative, if you are watching from abroad, is to fool your web browser into thinking you are in the UK by installing a VPN. Our pick of the best is NordVPN.

If you are placing a bet on the Grand National, you will also be able to live-stream the race through that bookmaker's mobile app.

Which horses are running in the 2019 Grand National?

You'll notice that this year's favourite is also the winner of the 2018 Grand National, Tiger Roll. Here are the other horses racing in the 2019 Grand National:

Number Horse Weight Age Jockey Trainer
3 Tiger Roll 11-5 9 D Russell G Elliott
13 Rathvinden 11-10 11 R Walsh WP Mullins
33 Vintage Clouds 10-4 9 D Cook S Smith
1 Anibale Fly 11-10 9 B Geraghty T Martin
9 Lake View Lad 10-11 9 H Brooke N Alexander
15 Rock The Kasbah 10-13 9 R Johnson P Hobbs
20 Jury Duty 10-11 8 R Power G Elliott
40 Joe Farrell 10-12 10 A Wedge R Curtis
10 Pleasant Company 11-1 11 P Townend WP Mullins
14 One For Arthur 11-0 10 D Fox L Russell
23 Ramses De Teillee 10-9 7 D Noonan D Pipe
12 Dounikos 11-1 8 J Kennedy G Elliott
26 Step Back 10-7 9 N De Boinville M Bradstock
36 Walk In The Mill 10-4 9 J Best R Walford
24 Tea For Two 10-5 10 L Kelly J Williams
35 Livelovelaugh 10-4 9 David Mullins WP Mullins
8 Minella Rocco 11-1 9 R McLernon J O'Neill
11 Ballyoptic 11-1 8 T Bellamy N Twiston-Davies
29 Up For Review 10-6 10 Danny Mullins WP Mullins
34 General Principle 10-4 10 D Fox L Russell
37 Folsom Blue 10-4 12 L Dempsey G Elliott
38 Captain Redbeard 10-3 10 S Coltherd S Coltherd
6 Go Conquer 11-3 10 S Twiston-Davies N Twiston-Davies
21 Noble Endeavor 10-10 10 M Enright G Elliott
30 Singlefarmpayment 10-6 9 P Brennan T George
31 Vieux Lion Rouge 10-6 10 T Scudamore D Pipe
7 Mala Beach 11-2 11 J Codd G Elliott
17 Regal Encore 10-3 11 M Walsh A Honeyball
19 A Toi Phil 10-11 9 D O'Regan G Elliott
22 Monbeg Notorious 10-6 8 S Bowen G Elliott
27 Ultragold 10-7 11 T O'Brien C Tizzard
32 Valseur Lido 10-6 10 R Blackmore H De Bromhead
2 Valtor 11-6 10 D Jacob N Henderson
16 Warriors Tale 10-13 10 H Cobden P Nicholls
18 Magic Of Light 10-11 8 P Kennedy J Harrington
39 Bless The Wings 10-3 14 R Dunne G Elliott
4 Outlander 11-4 11 K Donoghue G Elliott
5 Don Poli 11-3 8 P Mullins G Elliott
28 Blow By Blow 10-6 8 A Ring G Elliott
25 Just A Par 10-2 12 A Coleman J Moffatt

Grand National winners

The Grand National has been an annual event at Aintree since 1839, save for a brief hiatus between 1916 and 1918 during World War 1, and between 1941 and 1945 during World War 2.

To this day Red Rum is the only horse to have won the Grand National three times, in 1973, 1974 and 1977, with trainer Ginger McCain also going on to successfully lead Amberleigh House to victory in 2004. His son Donald then brought in a fifth win with Ballabriggs in 2011.

Here are the horses who won the £1m prize in the 21st century:

  • 2018: Tiger Roll
  • 2017: One For Arthur
  • 2016: Rule The World
  • 2015: Many Clouds
  • 2014: Pineau De Re
  • 2013: Auroras Encore
  • 2012: Neptune Collonges
  • 2011: Ballabriggs
  • 2010: Don't Push It
  • 2009: Mon Mome
  • 2008: Comply or Die
  • 2007: Silver Birch
  • 2006: Numbersixvalverde
  • 2005: Hedgehunter
  • 2004: Amberleigh House
  • 2003: Monty's Pass
  • 2002: Bindaree
  • 2001: Red Marauder
  • 2000: Papillon

Where to bet on the Grand National 2019

Since most bookmakers are paying five places for each way bets on this year's Grand National winners, the best advice is to first select your horse and then choose whichever bookmaker is paying the highest odds.

PaddyPower is offering new customers a free £10 bet with promo code YSKA00. For each way bets it's paying six places for the Grand National - click here to check its Grand National 2019 odds.

Unibet is offering new customers a £40 money back offer on their first bet, plus a £10 Casino credit. For the Grand National it's paying an impressive seven places with each way bets - click here to check its Grand National 2019 odds.

Betfair has an impressive offer for those who bet on a winning horse (with odds over 3/1) at its site, whereby you can get up to a £25 free bet. By default it's paying six places on each way bets, but you can get up to eight places by lowering the odds - click here to check its Grand National 2019 odds.

Betfred is also offering six places on each way bets - click here to check its Grand National 2019 odds.

Anyone who places a £10 bet on the Grand National at William Hill this Sunday will get another £10 free bet on Sunday. It's paying six places on each way bets - click here to check its Grand National 2019 odds.

Bet365 is another bookmaker offering you the choice of five or six places on its each way bets - click here to check its Grand National 2019 odds.

Ladbrokes is offering six places on each way bets by default - click here to check its Grand National 2019 odds.