SOS for OS install questions

Free Fall 17:53 27 Sep 2016

Greetings...

I would like to try and do something I have never done before, and could sure use some support and guidance. I would like to upgrade my factory installed Vista to Windows Seven. I plan to purchase a new, complete, retail copy of a 32 bit W7 progam on Ebay with the product key, to install in my Dell Dimension E521.

My plans are to save all important files onto a CD Rom prior to doing anything else.

Here is what I am unsure of:

Do I remove all Vista programs from my computer before I install, or will the new program do that for me?

Do I need any addition software or devise so on to install W7?

Is there anything I need to know/do before I try this, other than what I have already mentioned?

I will greatly appreciate any and all input.

Dan

xania 16:11 28 Sep 2016

First you should check to ensure your PC is capable of running Windows 7. Go to

click here download and run the check software.

Before you start installing Windows 7, ensure that you have backed up all your data and that you have all your software DVDs, printer and other hardware drivers etc. as you will need these after the installation is complete.

When you run the Windows 7 install, unless you tell it otherwise, it will completely wipe your existing C: drive before starting the install - the alternative to this is possible but I would not recommend you try it.

and

hadegre25 18:17 28 Sep 2016

I had the same issues, I hope you will solve it.

Burn-it 18:47 28 Sep 2016

Also go to the Dell support site and download all the Windows 7 drivers for your machine ans save them to a USB so you have them ready when you upgrade.

Free Fall 20:56 28 Sep 2016

I have to say, I joined this forum looking for help and support, and found plenty of both. You guys are great.

Here is where I'm at: