Hot Topics

Security between Win7 and Win10 on dual boot

aix123 23:09 06 Jan 2020

Windows 7 updates are coming to and end, for most people, next week. I have a dual boot laptop with Windows 7 and a trial version of Windows 10, which I may buy a licence for in a few weeks. After Windows 7 no longer gets security updates, even if I have my Internet connection in Win7 turned off when I use it, is it possible that it's vulnerable via Win 10? Win 10 updates will protect Win 10, but surely Win7 will be vulnerable, because from within either OS I can access files on the other OS.

Apologies if this sounds a silly question. I'm not a complete beginner, but know nothing about Windows security.

I'd appreciate any tips or advice.

Govan1x 00:14 07 Jan 2020

You can still get a free upgrade to W10 providing your W7 is genuine.

aix123 11:08 07 Jan 2020

I'm unsure yet whether I wish to use Windows 10, long-term, and have a 90 trial, while I keep Windows 7 on my computer. Really just trying to find out an answer to what I asked, but thanks anyway.

wee eddie 14:18 07 Jan 2020

aix: in the short term you will have a choice, you can use both.

In the long term, you have no choice, unless you are prepared to isolate that particular PC from the Internet.

aix123 16:02 07 Jan 2020

Thanks. But that's my point. On a machine with dual boot Win 7 and Win 10, from within Win 10 the folders and files for Win 7 are accessible. So even if Win 7 is only ever used offline, then the question is: after no security updates are available for Win 7, can't it be attacked via the internet while using Win 10? And if it is, why and how?

wee eddie 16:20 07 Jan 2020

Why bother. If you have Win 10, just ditch Win 7, and be done with it

x13 16:43 07 Jan 2020

can't it be attacked via the internet while using Win 10? And if it is, why and how?