Internet Browser Privacy & Security Rig, Thoughts?

dragoncat 03:07 21 Apr 2018

I'm trying to decide what to recommend to my friends and family in terms of avoiding trackers, malicious ads, fingerprinting, unnecessary data use, etc. on the internet. I am not a techie per se, but I am the most tech literate among us (God help us all lol) and I keep getting asked for advice. What should I tell people?

Personally, I've been using Epic Privacy Browser for a while, simply because it was quicker to set up than Firefox-plus-extensions-and-fiddling on my new machine. But, it is based on proprietary software (Chrome) and there are actually some extensions out there that I could stand to use that just aren't available with it (which is, of course, partly its point...)

I had a read of this click here and tried it (partly) for a friend, without using some of the things that would be more likely to get in her way, such as NoScript (which I have used before myself but damn do you know it's there...) From that, in terms of extensions, it seemed to suggest using uBlock Origin, Privacy Badger, HTTPS Everywhere, Cookie AutoDelete, Random User-Agent, Canvas Defender AND Decentraleyes to cover as many bases as possible (without using NoScript or uMatrix, which I thought would get in the way too much, or BetterPrivacy which is not available). That's a lot of extensions! But it didn't seem to slow the browsing down any. I think that perhaps the speed gained in loading less crap was spent on the processing of filtering out and misdirecting the crap, so in the end the speed was about the same. I couldn't find any webpages that were broken by it in a quick surf through her bookmarks bar.