Blue Screen / Screen Freeze

Chaosx2 19:20 15 Feb 2018

Okay, yes it's an older computer, but it's a workhorse & I do everything on it (or I did).

And it uses Windows XP Home SP3. Please forgive me.

Recently, I start the computer, it gets to the main page with all my shortcuts/folders/programmes on it, and it either freezes, or I get "the Blue Screen" and have to reboot - every time now. I'll open a folder or start a program & after a short while, the PC freezes or the BSOD appears. Ad nauseam.

The info on the Blue Screen is:

* STOP 0X000000D1 (OXOE111D62, OXOOOOOOO7, OX00000001, 0XF6D927FB)

* atapi.sys Address F6D927FBbase at F6D90000, Datestamp 4802539d

Why would this suddenly start happening? Is the PC just so old that it's given up? Is there any way of saving files? Sometimes it waits until I am running a program before it has a fit & stops or blue screens it.

I am not technical at all so please don't go all technical on me.

Thank you

Ian

Fruit Bat /\0/\ 13:03 16 Feb 2018
  1. Locate your Windows XP installation CD. If you don't have one, you'll need to locate a directory on your system that's named "i386" (without the quotes). This directory may be on a hidden partition on your hard drive.

2. Go to Start, then to Run, and type in "SFC.EXE /SCANNOW" (without the quotes - and with a space between the SFC.EXE and the /SCANNOW). The press Enter.

3. The program may or not ask you for your Windows XP installation CD - please insert it at the prompt. If it doesn't ask you for the CD this means that it wasn't necessary to replace any files.

4. In the event the the system asks you for the CD, you must visit Windows Update immediately after the scan is completed (Please note that there won't be any confirmation dialog - the program will just exit without telling you anything).

5. If this doesn't repair the problem with your system other troubleshooting procedures are required. We may have to do a repair install of XP

Chaosx2 18:31 16 Feb 2018