today was my last day at work.

grumpy old man 18:35 19 Jul 2019

I have been working for a vending machine company for the last 13 years , testing and inspecting machines before they go out to customers. In a few weeks I will be 64 and due to family health problems I have decided to call it a day.

This was my closing speech to all my workmates , some people lolled and a few cried but I would like to share with you what I said.

I started work almost 49 years ago , I don’t know why but every where I have worked I seem to have been treated like shit by either so called work mates , bosses or over ambitious union men.

Maybe some people just saw me as an easy target.

That all stopped when I joined this company in august 2006.

I can remember the day Paul showed me round what eventually became my work area I asked him so many questions I think I fried his brain because I suddenly noticed him pushing me closer and closer to the fire exit. I felt a big boot heading in my direction.

I need to say a big thank you to Mick ( my director/boss ) , over the years he has pissed me off , wound me up , stressed me out , done my head in and on few occasions I have wanted to smack him. Joking apart though, he is the only person ever to give me a job with a lot of trust and a lot of responsibility, I gave it my best shot Mick and would just like to think I repaid the trust you put in me.

As for everyone else your the best workmates I’ve ever had the privilege to work with, there have been lots of laughter and a few tears. Whenever anyone has needed help with anything we have always been there for each other.

Over the years some of us have lost family members and close friends; we have also lost some workmates as well. Bill, Sylvia, Barbara, and of course the biggest shock of all Linda. I think about Linda almost every day because I have photos of her in different folders on my pc.