Time for electoral reform fit for the 21st century

Quickbeam 07:27 27 May 2019

As the Tories have their worst election result since 1832, which incidentally also gave us an electoral reform by way of the Great Reform Act, we now see the end of the duopolies 'right to rule' looming close. Very close...

Quickbeam 07:30 27 May 2019

I've also just done something that I've never done before, or thought that I ever would. I've officially joined a political party!

bremner 09:33 27 May 2019

I predict the EU election will be a one off reaction to a single issue - Brexit.

Brexit Party and Change UK voters will return to the Tories and Labour as will many who have registered a protest vote though the Lib Dems and Greens.

Our two party system has been shaken but will remain as such for many years to come. True reform to local and national elections can only come with a change to proportional representation. PR only favours the smaller parties therefore the Tories and Labour fundamentally do not want it. The watered down AV referendum in 2011 only happened because the result was totally predictable.

natdoor 09:48 27 May 2019

Quickbeam, I hope it was the Tory party and that another 120,000 sensible people will do the same to prevent Boris from becoming PM.

Quickbeam 09:59 27 May 2019

Don't be silly natdoor!

Quickbeam 10:02 27 May 2019

bremner

People are wakening up to the restrictions of FPTP, they weren't convinced at the time of the 2014 referendum, but they are now.

Give us Great Reform Act 3.0!

bremner 11:15 27 May 2019

It does not matter whether a few people wake up - as we have found with Brexit what the people want and want the politicians are prepared to let them have are two very different things.

Govan1x 12:44 27 May 2019

United we stand divided we fall.

That is the good news as smaller Party's are getting more votes and of course they come from the so called Big 2.