"Designated Place" Deliveries No Longer om Offer?

morddwyd 10:04 04 Dec 2018

Some weeks ago I posted about Sainsbury now insisting on face to face deliveries and no longer delivering to a designated place. At the time I put it down to a one off unfortunate change of policy by Sainsbury.

However, over the last few weeks I've found levers others who are reluctant to do this, including some where I have been using this facility for up to ten years like Amazon or my frozen meals supplier.

Is there some new legal restriction, or a major increase in theft or fraud or perhaps a national general change of policy?

If the latter it will make quite a difference to people like me.

Pine Man 10:28 04 Dec 2018

Have you actually asked these suppliers what their policy is for people such as yourself?

morddwyd 11:24 04 Dec 2018

Sainsbury are adamant that an over 18 must sign, my meal supplier ignored me, and Amason simply send Template letter. Most of the others just blame the carrier

wee eddie 12:17 04 Dec 2018

I can understand their reluctance, as there is said to have been a rise in the number of claims for wrong or failed delivery. Unfortunately, they are not able to deal with you as an individual but must write a Policy that is applicable to all.

morddwyd 19:42 04 Dec 2018

Possibly, but the risk is all with the consignee, and in any event in these days of shared data I would think that most sellers would have a record of known fraudsters.

one is unlikely to get away with regular claims and would soon be blacklisted.

My most recent complaint (3 or 4 deliveries a week for ten years or so) was to Tesco about a fresh chicken delivered during the hot summer, which was "high" .

I told them I didn't want recompense, just something they should be aware of. They refunded me anyway, with real money, not a credit note. Mutual respect and honesty.

One would also expect that long time customers would be advised of changes in TCs.

wee eddie 19:55 04 Dec 2018