Hot Topics

Norton Motorcycles goes into administration!

Brumas 23:00 29 Jan 2020
Answered

I am not a motor cyclist but I do appreciate them, especially the older models, so I am really sorry to see them go to the wall.

Growing up I can remember my older brother had two Norton Dominators, one in pieces and one he rode to work. I can remember pestering him for ages, I must have been around eight years old, for a ride on the pillion. Mum, of course forbade it, which made it all the more exciting when it actually happened however I wish I hadn't nagged him so much because, when it did actually happen ,I was petrified and couldn't wait for him to turn for home! He admitted to me years later he deliberately went fast so as to put me off asking again!

qwbos 00:23 30 Jan 2020

Brumas

My only motorcycling experience was at a very early age on the tank of my grandfather's Aerial, then later, when as a student, I'd hide in a bus queue to try and avoid becoming a pillion passenger on a friends Honda 50. Every time he went up a gear, I felt I was going to drop off the back!

I've always enjoyed watching MotoGP and World and British Superbikes. Far better racing than you'll ever see on 4 wheels. Road racing, especially The Isle of Man TT, makes the hair on the back of my neck stand up. Brave or mad?

If you're into the older models, Henry Cole & Sam Lovegrove's programmes make excellent viewing.

I suspect Norton will make a comeback in some form. [MCN article ]1

Quickbeam 06:44 30 Jan 2020

They've been into administration a half dozen times over the century or so since the original company was set up, the first time around the great depression time. The name will reappear again, like Mini and Jaguar the Norton name is synonymous as a marque with being one of the best in Britain.