Hot Topics

Music in the car - problem

Forum Editor 18:11 11 Feb 2020
Answered

My youngest daughter has bought a secondhand Ford Focus. It's a nice car, but the stereo has no USB socket and she wants to use an MP3 player when driving. She says needs to do it via the aux socket in the glovebox. I am no expert when it comes to audio,can anyone help?

How does she connect an MP3 player to the aux socket to get the best sound quality? She has an RCA cable which plugs into the aux socket. It has two male connectors at the other end - how does she connect that to the MP3 player?

I boasted that someone in the forum is bound to know, so no pressure...

john bunyan 18:52 11 Feb 2020

You can get adapters that use a FM radio channel to play via the car radio

This is one- Amazon may have others

FM transmission

x13 18:56 11 Feb 2020

If you need the power socket for GPS then have a look here.

Teabag. 19:14 11 Feb 2020
  Quickbeam 22:39 11 Feb 2020

I can play from phone to car via a double phono mini jack on the VW aux input.

It has actually got Bluetooth as well so I don't need that, but it does work.

BT 23:50 11 Feb 2020

What Belatucadrussaid. That's how mine works, also with a CD player etc not that I need to do that as mine still has a built in one. I can also connect via Bluetooth so my tablet works as well which is the easier option, with the Amazon Music app. which I also use with my Sound bar indoors. Depending on the age of the car it probably has Bluetooth. Mines an 09 reg, and Bluetooth Icon shows in the Stereo display panel when you switch on.

Gordon Freeman 09:15 12 Feb 2020
Answer

On my car (not Ford Focus) the aux socket is a 3.5mm jack type (under the central arm rest).

To play music from a phone/mp3 player/ipod), you simply plug in a lead which has x2 male 3.5 jack pin connectors; one goes into the aux socket, and one into the headphone socket on the phone/mp3 player.