Lords Debate on Tax Credit Cuts

oresome 17:42 26 Oct 2015

I have little knowledge of tax credits, but reading a snippet from today's debate, someone cited a firefighters family potentially losing £2914.

I thought firefighters were paid a reasonable salary, well above the minimum wage, so what's this all about?

Is it because they have a large family to support or perhaps work in the capital and have high housing costs?

sunnypete 18:47 26 Oct 2015

When I studied for DMA, many years ago, I learnt that a finance bill could not be thrown out by the Lords. Have things changed in this respect too?...

spuds 18:58 26 Oct 2015

There as been an awful lot said about people being worse off, due to losing tax credits and various other benefits. Yet I can never understand how some people, get these credits, when they seem reasonable well off, compared to some sections of society.

The same might apply (again) to some people who have never worked, house full of kid's, sometimes with different father's, rent, community charge paid et al and the state, or should I say the tax payer as to foot that bill.

x123 19:11 26 Oct 2015

The upper limit to claim tax credits is ridiculous, I have heard that MP's even claim it.

If it had the upper limit, for working people at the dame rate of the benefits cap, £23,000. I think most people would be happy with that.

I have never claimed tax credits, never really heard of them till the latest furore..

csqwared 19:35 26 Oct 2015

sunnypete

As I understand it the Lords are arguing this a welfare issue, not financial, and are thus able to intervene.

oresome 20:17 26 Oct 2015

A House of Lords amendment to delay the implementation of the government's tax credit cuts by at least three years has been passed by 289 votes to 272.

canarieslover 20:32 26 Oct 2015