Does anyone here use UBER for cabs

bumpkin 20:44 14 Mar 2017

I am told by a friend that it is good but not really sure how it works. Do they use local cabs, are they reliable, reasonably priced etc. Anyone tried them or have any comments. I have used a local cab firm for years but am recently getting fed up with different drivers charging different amounts for the same journey or not understanding my requirements or even English properly.

Aitchbee 21:51 14 Mar 2017

I have had very bad reports re UBER from my younger brother who is a London black-cab taxi driver who's done the knowledge. Order a Uber Taxi with extreme caution [hirer beware] 'n' have a swatch at their T & C's if you have got any doubts.

wee eddie 22:06 14 Mar 2017

As a Hackney Driver, I always cross myself after mentioning Uber.

However, if you do use them, you should know the price (Fare) of your journey when you make your booking. As far as I know, when you sign up with Uber, you give them your Card Number and they deduct the Fare from your Card, you do not the Driver except, perhaps a tip, as Uber pay your Fare, less their commission, into the Driver's Bank Account. Uber drivers come from the same social group as Private Hire Drivers

wee eddie 22:10 14 Mar 2017

Please insert the word "Pay" into line 3. "you do not --- the Driver"

I am not a Uber user, for obvious reasons, so this may all be a load of cobblers

Al94 23:03 14 Mar 2017

My son and I use Uber regularly - very efficient and good value. Never had any problems. Not sure how the drivers make it pay!

Forum Editor 09:14 15 Mar 2017

"Order a Uber Taxi with extreme caution"

I use Uber cabs regularly, as do many colleagues, and members of my family. Nothing is perfect, but Uber cabs are reliable and efficient. I get a fare estimate in advance of booking a cab, and the money is taken from my bank account automatically at the end of the trip.