Hot Topics

Do Advertising Companies live in a different world

wee eddie 23:45 15 May 2020

The reason I'm asking this is that I'm new to TV Advertising and so I've not seen that many Adverts,

A Company that builds websites called "Go Daddy" is promoting itself as a exceptional generator of extra business and to show how good they are, they use "The Happy Plasterer" of Bristol as an example of how a website will generate extra business. At the end of the Advert a lady rings and books him for Monday.

I was with the Ad all the way, until that last bit.

A Plasterer that has vacant time next week? Cloud Cuckoo Land or he is a really crap Plasterer. I know of no competent Plasterer that is not fully booked for the next 3 months and frequently longer.

Or, is this some kind of Trumpian Irony

Quickbeam 05:06 16 May 2020

I got a plasterer out at short notice 6 years ago on a Sunday. But I had to pay over the odds. Money always talks if you want it done now...

morddwyd 09:26 16 May 2020

I received junk mail on Thursday.

Now I realise mail is an essential service (I'm in Scotland remember so still in full lockdown) bot surely not junk mail?

Why should the postie risk infection by having to deliver this stuff, or I by having potentially contaminated stuff put through my door?

Quickbeam 10:48 16 May 2020

That's a grey area just like the seaside ice cream vendors that are allowed to open because they sell food!

Pine Man 11:28 16 May 2020

Why should the postie risk infection by having to deliver this stuff, or I by having potentially contaminated stuff put through my door?

Why would junk mail be at any more risk of contamination than ordinary mail?

Postie hasn't got the right to choose what he delivers.

Fruit Bat /\0/\ 11:31 16 May 2020

Yes a totally different world

• where animals and babies talk

• and miracle goods work all the time

• never mind lawyers that are going to claim a fortune for you for no fee.

morddwyd 18:15 16 May 2020