The photos are still there.
Use isobuster click here or Restoration click here to recover them.
CDRs don't delete the information they just forget its there when information gets deleted...
It sounds like you started a new session instead of opening the old one and adding these pictures to it. Therefore the Disc contents is forgotten about and only the new contents can be seen.