Usb ports not working in newly built PC

sgtpsycotik 02:27 19 Oct 2015

Built new pc from scratch, I am new to pc building and this is my first time. My pc powers on and my mouse and keyboard does not light up when they are plugged in to the back panel usbs and front panel usbs. I have 4 usb 3.0 and 4 usb 2.0 (2 of each on front and back) and my kboard and mouse work in none of them! please help I do not know if I wired them wrong or what. They are fairly new appliances and they worked in my old prebuilt's 2.0 usbs.

my mobo is msi 970 gaming

xania 10:48 19 Oct 2015

The USB ports on the back are hardwired onto the MB so you cannot possibly have got this wrong. However, you might have mis-wired the front ones, and hence shorted out all the ports, so I suggest disconnecting the front USB from the front of the MB se for the present and see if the back ones come on.

Once you have the back ports working, you might find this useful for wiring the front ports:

click here

Fruit Bat /\0/\ 11:48 19 Oct 2015

Have you loaded the drivers? None of the ports will work until you have installed the USB control drivers.

chub_tor 12:59 19 Oct 2015

As FruitBat says, you need to install the drivers, they should be found on the disc that came with your motherboard. If not you can download all the drivers from The MSI Support website

sgtpsycotik 06:39 21 Oct 2015

I unplugged the usb 3.0 cord, and two usb cords. those are the only front panel usb cords I had in. The monitor has no display because my mouse and keyboard aren't working, so my monitor is on standby at all times except startup. I put in the motherboards driver install disk, but again I couldn't do anything with no keyboard, mouse, or monitor display. I've tried all the back panel usb ports, but as fruitbat said, they won't work until I install the drivers, which I can't do because my keyboard and mouse are usb.

sgtpsycotik 06:42 21 Oct 2015