Toshiba Satellite Pro C660 - 1ux HDD

Jodakist 16:32 16 Jun 2016

My daughter's laptop keeps freezing; I have used the internal `Repair' to set it back to the factory settings, but it is still the same. I have been told that it is a common symptom of a faulty hard drive, for which I was quoted approx £170.00 to replace and install the operating system. I am not a computer technician, but as I was a tv engineer, so feel that fitting a new HDD is within my capabilities, and as a replacement HDD from Toshiba is £80, this seems the logical thing to do; however before I buy a new HDD, can anyone tell me if it is correct that the freezing may be the result of it failing? I would just like the opinion of other people with computer knowledge before I spend my money, and I will not blame anyone if I choose to follow their advice and it doesn't cure the problem. Any advice would be very welcome. David

Fruit Bat /\0/\ 19:27 16 Jun 2016

FReeezing PC

1. Overheat due to faulty / blocked fans

2. PSU voltages (not applicable to laptops)

3. Household power surges fridge etc switching on/off (does it freeze when running on battery only?)

4. faulty memory stick try memtest click here virus or spyware scan for both especially if shutting down with in a few minutes of switch on or internet use

5. driver conflicts especially graphics cards get the latest drivers for your equipment.

You can run a check on the drive. In explorer right click the drive select properties - Tools tab - check drive.

It may also freeze if there are a lot of windows open at the same time and cpu is at 100%

Or if there is not much spare space on the drive.

Model of toshiba laptop? Most hard drives ae easy to change as located under a cover on the base , some are harder to get at as may be under the keyboard. We can probably find a Youtube video or strip down instruction easy enough.