Trouble with restoring in safe mode is that all other restore points are lost. You start afresh. Depending on the OS, highlighted restore points aren't an issue. So I'd take a gamble and go for buteman's suggestion, as you seem to have no other option.
"Trouble with restoring in safe mode is that all other restore points are lost"
I nearly always have to perform system restore in safe mode on my XP system - in fact I did one the other day - and all my restore points are still there as always. What you can't do is reverse the changes if it's been done in safe mode.
I apologise if not being able to put my theory in to practical words. You can't undo any restore point you use in safe mode. So if you go back to your first restore point in system restore, in safe mode, then you are well and truly stuffed. Thanks for pointing it out Sea Urchin.
Thank you all for your help and advice. I have tried it with Zone Alarm un-installed. Didn't make any difference. I have not as yet tried it in safe-mode as, at this time, it has not been convenient and the need to do it has not been pressing. Will try it as soon as I can and will let you know thw result. Thank each and every one of you again. rnsa.
This thread is now locked and can not be replied to.