Slow startup/shutdown

vodkagal3 08:53 03 Apr 2005

I have xp home and it's very slow on startup and shutdown so I tried to cure the problem but being a novice I have not managed and now when I start my pc I get a strange program in the taskbar "two boxes" and a message that tells me the program can't be found and to remove it from the registry!! I followed (or thought I had) trouble shooter on the subject and used Msconfig. So 1) how do I get rid of the annoying two boxes in the left side of my task bar on startup and 2) any suggestions why my pc is so slow on start/shutdown.
I have done defrag. and other things the help section suggests.
Any help would be appreciated.

Diodorus Siculus 09:02 03 Apr 2005

click here
Windows XP Home and Professional Service Pack 2 Service Configurations by Black Viper will give some options for start up.

Run the system file checker:

start

run

sfc /scannow

This fixes any system files damaged.

vodkagal3 09:42 04 Apr 2005

Thanks Diodorus the problem with slow start/shutdown is a little better but I still can't get rid of the boxes that appear when I start my pc.
They appear in the task bar next to the start button and a message pops up saying the program can't be found!! I can clear the annoying symbol by pressing cancel and everything seems to work as normal but the problem rears its ugly head again when I next switch on my pc....any further ideas to get rid of this problem would be appreciated.

vodkagal3 09:42 04 Apr 2005

Thanks Diodorus the problem with slow start/shutdown is a little better but I still can't get rid of the boxes that appear when I start my pc.
They appear in the task bar next to the start button and a message pops up saying the program can't be found!! I can clear the annoying symbol by pressing cancel and everything seems to work as normal but the problem rears its ugly head again when I next switch on my pc....any further ideas to get rid of this problem would be appreciated.