PSU dies when reciving power

Rasmus53 18:05 24 Nov 2016
Answered

Hello recently my power supply died, i turnt on my pc like usual, and i heard a snap and a Got a burnt smell from my PSU. I the ordered a new one. A couple of days later i received the new PSU and coulndt wait to start gaming Again so i installed it and plugged in the necesary cables, but the same thing happend. It dies when i put in the power cable and flick the switch. I did the paper clip test without succes. I am really afraid it could have damaged any of my other components, but i have never sene or heard Anything like this. (I am studying as an IT supporter) Please help me i have no idea what to do, but i Cant keep buying new components until it Works so i really need some help. Sorry for my bad english. Rasmus - concerned gamer

Rasmus53 18:18 24 Nov 2016

I forgot my pc specs Kington ssd 250 gb, Msi GeForce GTX 960 gaming 2 gb, Intel core i5-4460, HyperX Fury DDR3 1866MHz 16 gb, Old PSU: coolermaster g650m, New PSU: corsair vs650 Msi z97s SLI Krait Edition

Bris 18:47 24 Nov 2016

Are you using the same mains lead? Are you sure the smell is coming from the PSU rather than the lead. The lead should have a 5 amp fuse max. If the lead has a removable plug then check that its wired correctly.

If its the PSU then its puzzling as a quality PSU such as the one you purchased will have current limiting built in which prevents damage to the PSU in the event of a short circuit so even if there is a direct short on the motherboard then it should not cause the PSU to ignite.

Rasmus53 19:17 24 Nov 2016