When I installed my modem after changing my PC and reset my TalkTalk/Tiscali account for this PC I ticked the box saying "Automatically connect with modem" which worked OK. When I had finished on line I right clicked on the two monitors at the bottom of the screen and clicked on "Disconnect" after a while I left the PC for a while to go for a meal and when I came back I saw it was online again.
My quandary is how do I turn this off and go back to my old system of clicking on the Desktop shortcut and going on line at my choice of time. I can't find where to switch it off.
Sorry to be so long winded, I hope someone can help me.
I went into Internet Options -> Connections where it said Tiscali Broadband(Default) and underneath were the options 1 - Never dial a connection 2 - Dial whenever a connection is not present 3 - Always dial my default
so I ticked No1 (No was ticked already) i had to reboot to try it but it wouldn't connect. I got the message "user name and password not recognised" When I went back into Internet Options and turned all the ticks back from No1 to No3 everything worked OK.
Why do you want to turn it off? its not a phone and does not need to be disconnected. Router stays on all the time, no need to turn it off. likewise your connection is the same, it does not cost no more when running other than few pence per year electric