Opinions please.....

[DELETED] 13:55 13 Oct 2003

click here
New to webdesign, just finished this site for some friends.
They didnt want anything flashy which is good seeing as I am a newbie.

I know I need to change the links to change colour when hovered.

I would like to sort out the code so it is tidier as I started using dreamweaver and then when the trial ran out moved over to FP2000 = code is a bit messy, anyone know of a utility I can use to tidy this up.

Cheers for any comments

Forum Editor 22:41 13 Oct 2003

to web design this is a very creditable effort. Your site does the one thing that a web site needs to do if it is to be a success - it grabs the visitor's attention.

Of course there are things that could be improved - having a scroll bar in a form isn't ideal, and the more so because it merges into the background. Consider making the page larger, and inserting thr text into a table for a tighter control over positioning.

The text would possibly lose a little tension if you varied the font size more as well - so that headers and body text were more distinct.

These are minor quibbles - the site does its job very well as it stands.

[DELETED] 23:07 13 Oct 2003

As FE states, a very worthy effort - well done. Apart from pointers given by FE I do think that the navigation links could do with being more prominent, possibly using a button 'style' menu.

[DELETED] 23:34 13 Oct 2003

Cheers both of you.

I am in the process of designing some buttons.
I want to do them from scratch as apposed to downloading them, so I will see how they come out and use them instead of just text.

Its funny what you (FE) say about the form, I got the idea to use slices and have the individual pages within the homepage from a tutorial but the one page I didnt like the look of was the contact page.
The guys I designed this for couldnt see how to scroll down until I showed them the coloured scrollbar so I am concerned that others may have difficulty also.