Ongoing PC issues - Keeps randomly restarting now

Finalninjadog 00:07 28 Apr 2018

Hi all,

Just to make you aware, I know a fair bit about computers, but I'm no expert. As such, if you have any solutions I would appreciate easy to follow instructions/solutions.

This may be a bit of a stretch, but I'm having an ongoing issue with my computer and it's becoming increasingly frustrating, so I'm hoping someone is able to assist.

This is my computer, the specs should be pretty much the same since I've not upgraded it since purchasing over 2 years ago: click here the beginning of the year my computer has been acting rather unusually. On one occasion it decided to grayscale on, eventually I discovered this and was able to reverse it by turning the grayscale off, however I still don't get how that happened.

Secondly, over the period of several weeks, whenever I first turned on my PC it made this really loud whirring sound, kind of like it was about to take off. On separate occasions I tried opening the PC and cleaning it out, restarting the PC multiple times over and sometimes leaving it on for a bit until it finally calmed down. This eventually has stopped.

Thirdly, and arguably the most annoying, my PC decides to randomly restart itself. There's no reason behind it, it just pretty much goes back to the original computer loading screen and going through the entire boot process as if I had first turned it on. There doesn't seem to be any particular reasoning as to why it does it, nor does it display any error messages. The power cable is firmly connected between the PC and plug socket, I don't think there's any wonky pins or anything (although seeing as the computer instantly restarts I'm not sure if that would be the issue or not?). So far, I've tried turning off the automatic restart feature in the startup and recovery window, as well as changing the power options so that it restarts after being on for 5 hours straight, but neither of these have solved the issue.