No wifi in one room on one phone

Shaun Dowling 19:29 11 May 2019

I have wifi over the house and it works fine, however, my daughter's Sony Xperia couldn't get wifi in her bedroom (Wifi sign with apostrophe). Myself, my wife and my eldest daughter can get a signal just fine. Thinking it was a problem with her phone as it was about 5 years old, I replaced her phone with a Samsung S7 Edge and also changed network. Her new phone also can't find the wifi signal. Am I missing something?

difarn 22:01 11 May 2019

Can she connect in other rooms of the house?

Shaun Dowling 14:47 12 May 2019

Thanks for the reply. Her phone works okay in all other rooms.

difarn 21:46 12 May 2019

This is quite strange. If you have a dual band router has your daughter tried connecting to the other band - either 2.4 or 5 ghz - when in her room?

Shaun Dowling 23:24 12 May 2019

I'm not really tech savvy so not sure. It's a Virgin Media hub and the phone is just connected how we normally connect. Is there another way to do it then?

difarn 12:24 13 May 2019

It it is a dual band router then there are two available frequencies. 2.4GHz and 5GHz. The first gives a slower but wider range and the latter a faster but shorter range. In some cases individual users on individual devices have the option to choose which one they want when they see available wifi networks. I'm not sure you can do that with the Virgin Hub.

According to this article it is a dual-band router. If you wanted to get into the admin pages of your hub then you need to follow the instructions given. Your password will be on the router. Remember to type the figures given into the URL bar and not the search engine (Google etc). Because you will be changing the band in the router then I would imagine that will be the band that all devices will have to connect to. You could try and see if it solves the problem on your daughter's phone in her bedroom.