I have an integrated Graphics card can I remove it

Furkan Kaya 19:41 06 Dec 2016

Hello I have an Acer Aspire X1200-ED5200A whichh has an integrated NVIDIA GeForce 8200. I am not very good with computers so I don't exactly understand what it means if a graphics card is integrated. Does that mean my graphics card is in the CPU? So if this is true does that mean my Proccesor has a built in graphics card which can I install into any other pc?

Archonar 20:15 06 Dec 2016

That GPU is built into the motherboard, which means that you cannot simply remove it and install it to another pc / laptop since the motherboard is specific to that laptop and would be near impossible to transfer.

Old Deuteronomy 20:26 06 Dec 2016

Integrated GPU's are actually integrated with the CPU, part of the same piece of silicon. There is no way to remove and replace.

Furkan Kaya 21:11 06 Dec 2016

So which one of you are correct? Is the graphics card in the motherboard or the cpu?

Furkan Kaya 21:12 06 Dec 2016

If the graphics card is in the CPU can I install the CPU(with the integrated graphics card in it) to another PC and have both of them on the new pc.

Belatucadrus 21:50 06 Dec 2016

Check out the user manual HERE. Will give you a much better idea as to what's going on. The integrated graphics chip is a stand alone component on the motherboard in your case a NVIDIA NForce MCP78 692 BGA I suppose it may be possible to remove if it hasn't been soldered in but as any new MOBO designed for integrated graphics will be supplied with one already in place there's really no point in trying.

Looking in the manual your MOBO does have a PCI express slot so you could fit a dedicated graphics card if you so choose.

As to putting the CPU in another PC, yes it can be done but you need to be 100% sure that the two are compatible. If the new MOBO isn't designed to take your CPU it isn't going to work.

Archonar 16:01 07 Dec 2016