Hp Pavilion ZE4800 Laptop Problem

Llyffant 21:37 24 Nov 2008

My laptop has developed a problem as follows:
when switched on it goes to the screen offering Safe Mode, etc and unless changed eventually opts for normal start and continues to load. The Windows XP page starts to load but after a few seconds a message flashes across the screen too quickly to be read and the laptop restarts itself.
Can anyone possibly suggest what the problem might be or whether there's anyway of catching the error screen before it disappears and the laptop restarts again.
Many thanks

The Potter 23:13 24 Nov 2008

Sorry Llyffant, I can't offer any solution but my posting will raise your post up and maybe draw more attention.

In the meantime (and I am no expert), have you downloaded/installed a new programme recently or visited a website that maybe caused the machine to restart? In my own experience (which is not professional) this sounds like a dodgy programme or a bug from online.

Don't get scarred though, I speak only from experience which is limited to me alone, mostly.

I hope you get a speedy reponse because this is standard stuff for techno bods and there are many on here :thumbsup:

TP

Fruit Bat /\0/\ 23:25 24 Nov 2008

Do any of the other options work?
Last Known Good Configuration should be your first choice.

If no options work then try a repair of XP if you have (or can borrow) a CD.
Repair XP by install over the top of existing system

1. Boot the computer using the XP CD. You may need to change the boot order in the system BIOS so the CD boots before the hard drive. Check your system documentation for steps to access the BIOS and change the boot order.

2. When you see the "Welcome To Setup" screen, you will see This portion of the Setup program prepares Microsoft Windows XP to run on your computer:

To setup Windows XP now, press ENTER.

To repair a Windows XP installation using Recovery Console, press R.

To quit Setup without installing Windows XP, press F3.