How to change account password in Thunderbird

stlucia2 11:39 07 Dec 2015
Answered

I've been using Outlook Express for my emails for many years now, and am currently trying to migrate over to Mozilla Thunderbird. I've got three email accounts running in Thunderbird (and deleted from my OE list), but I'm having a problem with one of them, a hotmail account:

When I was abroad recently I accessed that particular account from a friend's computer and, for some reason I can't remember, changed its password. Now when I start Thunderbird it gives an error message that it can't access that account, and inviting me to input a new password. I've done that several times now, but Thunderbird still asks for a new password every time I start up. I've also had a message from Microsoft about suspicious activity on the account, giving me a new security code to use with the account, but Thunderbird isn't asking for any security code. By the way, I'm confident I've got the correct password, for I wrote it down in my phone when I changed it.

I then looked for an option to change the password for the account in Thunderbird, hoping to do it manually, but I can't find any such option. Can someone help me with that please?

AroundAgain 12:00 07 Dec 2015

Have you tried to access your email account on the web mail site first? That would be the best place to start. If you can access there, then you know your password.

Then go to Thunderbird and try sending an email. If the password isn't correct, you get a small dialogue box asking for the correct password, with a tick box underneath to tell the program to remember it.

That's the way to change your password generally, having changed it on webmail beforehand.

You can get to view your passwords quite easily by going to Tools - Options - Security (tab) - Saved Passwords - Show Passwords (bottom right of new window)

Hopefully you will now be able to access your emails on Thunderbird :)

stlucia2 12:20 07 Dec 2015