Hot Topics

Help Needed - How do I Scan for Wifi Interferance

dan_jjjj 23:27 04 Jan 2020

Hi,

My family is really struggling with our WiFi. It works perfectly sometimes, but then other times, it suddenly disconnects from all devices and we are unable to connect. This has been happening for about 3 years now.

I am an IT Consultant with 20 years of experience. I've tried 5 different routers of increasing number of antennas and price with no luck.

My house is a 3 bedroom terrace house and not that big. Even standing by the router doesn't help during a Wifi outage.

I've now signed up to BT's Complete Wifi solution which guarantees Wifi, but it hasn't helped. They say that they'll simply send another booster if there are problems, but during an outage, even the first booster goes offline. Even connecting to the router doesn't work.

Using a network cable works perfectly and speed tests are as fast as expected. So none of the ISPs I've been with will help.

I've tried changing channels and switching to 5GHz but nothing helps.

My neighbour just found out I was an IT Consultant, then told me he's also been having WiFi problems and asked me for help. The times when my WiFi dies matches up with the times he also has problems.

My current theory is now that there is some form of local interference. This is based on an issue a client had when they sent a cordless phone to America. After a few months, local authorities knocked on their door to inform them that they had traced a signal to their office which was interfering with local services. They performed a site survey and traced it to the cordless phone.

I currently believe someone in the area is using equipment that isn't certified for use in the UK.

I reported it to Ofcom (risking being charged £70+ per hour if the issue was with my own equipment). They called within 30 minutes, listened to the issue, but then said they didn't investigate home wifi issues.