Help with diagnosis and whether to upgrade or buy

finallyfoundln37 08:13 17 Apr 2017

Disclaimer: I am a noob. So hold on, this is going to be a journey. I need help with diagnosing the necessary repairs and/or upgrades and I need help deciding whether it would be smarter to just buy new. Both of these laptops are old hand-me-downs, mind you.

The first laptop, my fallen love, is the Compaq c700. This small beast performed well when it came to having tons of tabs open at once. The bad news is I, like some sort of untamed jackass, used to lift this piece and carry it around by the screen. I didn't know any better. Well, I now know better since the screen now turns white as soon as it comes on. I've replaced the lcd cable but to no avail. I've ordered a replacement lcd screen and tried that with no success. I've hooked it up to a different screen which seems to work just fine until after I boot up the OS. As soon as I hear the "welcome" jingle for the Windows Login screen, the monitor goes directly to sleep. But get this, if I run the machine in Safe Mode, then the monitor does not go to sleep. So confusing to me. What's a simple man to do?

The other laptop, the Compaq cq62, is remarkably slow. I have no idea what's making it so slow. I'm running it with Linux mint. I have virtually nothing on this computer as I keep all of my data on an external hard drive. I can provide the specs and some sort of benchmark if you can tell me what tests to run.