HDD makes clinking sound normal? (recording inc)

JackoThe1st 12:08 12 Sep 2015

Hi gang,

I'm very new to desktop computing (two days) but I'm fairly certain I've never head an HDD make quite this sound before, having listened and watched a bunch of YT vids on normal and abnormal noises. It's a high pitched mechanical scraping noise that happens every now and again, maybe a few times a minute or sometimes every 30 mins or so whether I'm running programs or just idle. It's a Seagate Barracuda Sata III 1TB HDD.

I've recorded a couple of clips. You can hear it well enough over the fans (and washing machine!) but I can remove HDD from case and re-record if needed.

First clip is HDD being mostly idle, occasionally I click the start and stop button within 'HD Tune', not exactly sure what that does? It's a 20 min recording edited down to one minute so the noise doesn't ocuur anywhere near as frequently as what you can hear!

click here clip is doing a 'quick error scan' using same program. Sounds like normal seeking sounds but then the noise comes back after the scan is finished and I begin to play a YouTube vid. The suspect sound you hear is NOT coming from the video.

click here much appreciate it if someone could take a listen and give me a verdict, thanks. Hopefully the links work.

Second I'd

BRYNIT 22:09 12 Sep 2015

Would have been better without the background noise. It does sound like a seeking noise but IMO It shouldn't be that loud. It's a possibility the hard drive could be failing, I would backup all files to an external and create an system image of the drive just in case.

JackoThe1st 22:40 12 Sep 2015

Well it's brand new so it has no files on it anyway. Should i just RMA it do you think?

JackoThe1st 22:45 12 Sep 2015

I ran the Seagate Tools diagnostics on it and it passed the tests. At no point during the tests did it make the noise, it just sounded like a normal working hard drive. It only seems to make the clinky sound when it's idle.