Have my emails been hacked into?

  Conny 09:35 21 Oct 2012

I have 2 email accounts, 1 for personal use and 1 for work use, both are Hotmail.com addresses. For the past month or so each time I open my personal one a page comes up after I log in asking for information. It has a blue bar across the top saying 'Microsoft account' but no other indication it is from them. It then has the title; A password isn't enough. This is followed by asking for an alternative email address, a phone number and a security question which consists of asking for my fathers middle name. Is this a phishing scam? There are no boxes to tick to delete it and it only comes up on the one account. Any ideas how I can get rid of it? I have run AVG, CCleaner and cleared out my cookies. Thanks in advance.

  Secret-Squirrel 11:09 21 Oct 2012

Conny, if it's this that you're seeing, then no, you haven't been hacked into as it's a legitimate Microsoft security-warning.

A check you can make to ensure you're on the right webpage is to look at your browser's address bar. In Firefox and IE the domain is indicated in bold type so if it says live.com or hotmail.com then you know you're in the right place.

  lotvic 11:29 21 Oct 2012

Jock1e, yes there is a superb free email at http://www.gmx.co.uk/ I've been with them for years. POP mail, IMAP, Webmail, File storage and sharing, Email notification of Spam Headers (so you can then go to webmail site and mark as spam or not), tons more features.

  Conny 12:43 21 Oct 2012

Secret Squirrel, yes thats the screen and it says 'live.com' in bold. So it is perfectly safe to fill it in?

  Secret-Squirrel 12:53 21 Oct 2012

"So it is perfectly safe to fill it in?"


  lotvic 13:26 21 Oct 2012

Conny, thanks for your thread, I've also got to go through the sign up Outlook.com change from my hotmail account addys. I've been putting it off as I collect email on email client on pc and haven't been to webmail hotmail for ages.

applogies to Conny for replying to Jock1e on your thread.

Jock1e, I didn't realise that the ads in gmx were that bad. I use Adblocker+ and have never seen them. Thanks for the heads up.

This thread is now locked and can not be replied to.

Elsewhere on IDG sites

EE is the UK's first 5G network, launching next week

Philips 499P9H monitor review – this 49-inch screen turns heads and will make your colleagues…

MacBook Pro Buying Guide: 13in vs 15in MacBook Pro

Test : casque audio Avanti C de Moshi