Get rid of dialup connection window

  Europa 14:56 13 May 2006
Locked

When I start my computer, the dialup connection window comes automatically on the desktop, I need to click a few times to get rid of it, then it comes back a while later.
I knew once upon a time what to change in the setup to stop that window appearing every time but cannot remember.
How do you get rid of it?
Also, my username I log in with is my old email address. I am using another email address now. I am still receiving the pc advisor newsletters through that old email address. Can I change the username and set it up with my actual email address, without needing to register again and lose the name I am using in the forum?
Thank you.

  Diemmess 18:31 13 May 2006

Try clicking on 'your name' at the top left.
You should be able to keep your member name and password and merely change your email address.

If you are absolutely stuck click on Contact Forum Editor in the grey header at the top of this window

  Europa 20:40 13 May 2006

Thank you Diemmess, it worked, I have changed my email address and I still keep all the rest.
Any idea about my other problem? I must have read the solution somewhere on a thread or in a magazine, but I can't find it. It's very annoying.

  Europa 23:26 13 May 2006

ade.h, it was doing that when I first had the computer, 9 months ago. Then I've found the way to change some setting to prevent that window to appear on my desktop. Since then, I had to delete my 2 internet accounts and reset them again as I had problems with one of them. Then it reappeared.It is just a window inviting me to connect to the internet. I can take it out by clicking on the top right corner but I need 3 or 4 attempts to do so. Then it reappears about 10 minutes later.
I am using the NVidia firewall provided with window XP.

  anskyber 14:38 14 May 2006

Is your internet service interupted during this process? Ie. is it a redundant window or instead notifying you that you need to reconnect?

  Europa 18:36 14 May 2006

It's the dial up connection window, it shows connect to, username, password and at the bottom connect, settings, cancel. You can retrieve it manually yourself but in my case it comes up first thing after the desktop has finish coming on screen, on top of my screensaver. It is not the reconnect window, it appears before I got any chance to do anything on the computer.

  woodchip 19:32 14 May 2006

Check Start\Run type MSCONFIG go to Startup tab look for the program or dialer and remove the tick

  watchful 21:42 18 May 2006

It could be in Tools/Internet Options/Connections/mark the circle that says 'never dial a connection'- apply/OK.

  Europa 13:37 19 May 2006

Watchful, that's the one I was looking for!
Thank you all for your very much appreciated help.

This thread is now locked and can not be replied to.

Elsewhere on IDG sites

FIFA 19 review

Design a vector map packed with creatures and landmarks

iPhone XS vs iPhone X: What is the difference?

Comment désactiver la lecture automatique des vidéos sur Chrome ?