Desktop PC Running Very Slow

neilrh 22:31 04 Jun 2017

I have an Asus desktop PC running Windows 10. My problem is it takes 8 mins for my desktop icons to appear, another 13 mins for my taskbar apps to appear. It's another 15 mins before anything becomes functional, no start menu, search, browser etc. It's then sluggish for about 10 mins but after that everything appears to be ok, (approx 45 mins from switch on). I'm not very technical but if someone could help me solve this problem it would be appreciated.

Thank you, Neil

Govan1x 23:48 04 Jun 2017

Have a look in Device manager to see if any yellow exclamation marks.

Check to see how much space you still have left in C Drive, While on that run clean disk to see how much that removes.

Have you run any security programs if so which.

neilrh 00:47 05 Jun 2017

No exclamation marks in Device manager (it took over 5 mins to open).

349 GB free of 449 GB. Ran clean disk previously, also ran drive error checking

and no errors were found.

I have Kaspersky Internet Security installed, ran a full system scan nothing

detected also Malwarebytes again no problems.

I'll retract what I wrote earlier "It's then sluggish for about 10 mins but after

that everything appears to be ok" because if you operate more than one task at a

time everything freezes.

wee eddie 01:46 05 Jun 2017

Download and run CCleaner Free. They make it difficult to find as they want you to pay, but the free version does the business.

After you've done a basic cleanup, have a look at what is opening at Startup. You can "disable" most everything but your Anti Virus

q33ny 11:06 05 Jun 2017

You can try to get a little bit more speed until you figure out what is going on by changing the performance option. Press the Windows button and type: adjust the appearance and performance of Windows On Visual Effects change it from Let Windows choose what's .... to Adjust for best performance