Connecting Sky digi-box to a PC and a TV

frevg 11:24 10 Jul 2008

I am sorry, but I am a beginner in this as well as computers, but on my previous (Fredvg) I left off the heading. Please my Fredvg.

DieSse 12:14 10 Jul 2008

What kind of Sky box - Standard or HDTV?

For the PC you'll need somewhere to input the signal to. These are not normally fitted as standard - look to see if the system has some sort of video input/capture facility.

A normal graphics card is not enough.

frevg 13:35 10 Jul 2008

It's just a standard Sky box. On the PC, there are 2 blue connectors, I can connect the monitor to one, the other seems to be spare possibly for connection to a TV, a TV out, and a rectangular plug, I think it is labelled DVI but the last letter is very faint. There are of course the 3 blue green and pink plugs. Are they video in and out and sound out. Apart from the USB plugs, and the internet connection there is nothing else.
Many thanks for your interest.

frevg 13:38 10 Jul 2008

It's just a standard Sky box. On the PC, there are 2 blue connectors, I can connect the monitor to one, the other seems to be spare possibly for connection to a TV, a TV out, and a rectangular plug, I think it is labelled DVI but the last letter is very faint. There are of course the 3 blue green and pink plugs. Are they video in and out and sound out. Apart from the USB plugs, and the internet connection there is nothing else.
Many thanks for your interest. I forgot to mention that my TV is not a modern one and I connect the Sky box to via a scart lead

DieSse 14:37 10 Jul 2008

You don't appear to have a video in capability.

The blue/gree/pink trio are all for sound - pink in microphone in - green is speakers out - blue may be line-in or line-out - none of them are video..

The rectangular (ish) plug on the video card is DVI - that's an output for a digital interface monitor.

Easiest for the inexperienced to get TV picture in is via a USB adapter, like this

click here