The Blue screen of death - or is it?

totalnovice 00:14 07 Nov 2008

Basically, last week, I switched on my laptop (XP) and got a blue screen when I booted up which said;

Checking file system on C. The type of file system is NTFS. Volume label is HDD. One of your disks needs to be checked for consistency.

I let it run for its consistency check, which took about a minute and it then re-booted itself and when it re-started, I had the option of launching in regular XP home edition or in recovery mode. So I clicked 'Home edition' and managed to access my computer fine.

Now, every time I log on, it starts off by asking me if I want 'XP home edition' or 'Recovery mode', and then when I click 'home edition', it starts to boot up and I again get the message that a file needs to be checked for consistency blah blah blah, so as I have run this several times and it hasn't helped, I'm now skipping the check.

I'm a total novice (hence the name!) so have been looking up and down the length of the net for an answer. So far, I have tried the following;

Ran HD Tune on my computer and the results were 'Ok' - said there were no issues and everything seemed to be working find on the hard drive

Ran CCleaner and got rid of a bunch of dud files and did a registry check....it repaired 303 problems.

I then looked into the manufacturer of my hard driver (seaman or something) and then ran a diagnostics check on their website. It went through the check, rebooted the system and once again I got the same messages. This time, I let it run its consistency check and when it was over, I got a message that said something like 'disk clean'. But when I switched it off and on again....back to square one with blue screen etc.

I have run Chkdsk and tried to defrag, but it wont let me, giving me a message that a check is already scheduled. I also tried retoring to an earlier point and it won't let me do that either.