Any Visual Basic wizkids in here?

Elrond 17:52 16 Mar 2003

I am only a novice and have put together an application in which when opened (MDI PARENT FORM) has nothing but a menu across the top with the usual File-Edit etc options. In my file menu I have a New option like many other applications. This opens up a Child form with the main parts of the app on. What I need to do is be able to code my Save option in the file menu, to Save the details that the user puts into the form. Any Ideas? Thanks

Taran 18:05 16 Mar 2003

What are the user details, where will they be saved (as or to a text file, into a database etc) and how are they inputting - standard textboxes for personal contact information for example, or are they selecting from listboxes from a series of options ?

Give as much information as you can. One of us will try and help.

Elrond 18:19 16 Mar 2003

Well, what it is, you open the main window, then select new rabbit.(its a little prog for my gf's dad who shows rabbits). That then opens a new form which has details about the rabbit, Name/d.o.b/sex etc, and the user inputs this info into a text box

Taran 18:38 16 Mar 2003

That sounds like an Access job rather than out and out VB.

Unless it absolutely has to be VB, I'd be tempted to make an Access (or similar program) database - you can program it from VB if you like.

Post again if you have to use VB, but from the little you have mentioned I'd say this is a small database project more than anything else.

Elrond 18:43 16 Mar 2003

I havent the slightest idea how to use Access, I'm doin it thru VB cos I just wanted to create a few of my own programsplus I can design it how I want to, because I've divided the form to have a large text box on the one side just to add any miscellaneous detials. So what I was looking for was what code to add to this in the main code window

Private Sub mnuFileSave_Click()

End Sub

Elrond 18:46 16 Mar 2003