ANTIVIR...!! DONT GET IT!!!!!

keiththebeast 23:19 12 Sep 2006

hi everyone well ive been using the net for over 7 yrs now & had my own pc for years & had various anti-viruses throughout the yrs avast/norton/avg/pc-cillin/f-prot & just 2 days ago got informed by some gadgey @ pc world to quote his words "get rid of everything & get antivir" so been a nuget i thought ok ive never heard of it but i will give it a try...omg never ever ever ever again good points its small doesnt hammer your cpu & thats about it..bad points its not safe & trying to get it to do a scan is something of a nightmare like "wheres the command to let you scan it.." & it battered my pc...i got backdoors/viruses/spyware just about everything it even made my game on a website that ive been using for over a year go mental it somehow affected "java" as it began to start flashing like a strobelight, it shut down my browsers & i thought i might have to format my pc back to "dos"...anyway i have never had such a surge in issues since installing this rubbish & to top it all @ first i sent a email to some freinds & 3 of them had similar issues & one of them had to format his pc & hes got a degree in "it".....not sure if anyone else has had this issue but i am going to email them to ask wat kinda "outfit" avira gmbh are running but iam not a happy chappie..let me know your thoughts ALSO does anyone know how to get rid of the remaining "DLL" files of thi so called antivirus as i am having a hard time removing them from the pc..thankx
keith

iambeavis 23:55 12 Sep 2006

The DLL files left in the instalation folder can be deleted whilst in safe mode - you can use 'unlocker' just to be certain - click here

keiththebeast 00:07 13 Sep 2006

many many thankx m8..!! i did forget thats the way so many thanks for your reply & time
:-) kind regards
keith

wolfie3000 14:25 13 Sep 2006

Iv been using Antivir for years with no problems what so ever,

I have never had any bad infections from viruses in that time.