Ancient Toshiba problem. HDD not recognized

dangerusone 11:48 01 Jan 2018

I have an very ancient Toshiba Satellite 4060XCDT Laptop given me, when I say ancient it dates back to 2002 no mousepad just a mouse a mousepoint ball in the centry of the keyboard. It has Win XP "4GB HDD" "128KB RAM" I want to put a bigger HDD and more memory but when I put another HDD in it is not recognized, I've tried two different ones and neither will show. Both came from working Laptops. the machine works OK and it's handy to play around with as I have no knowledge of XP system. Can anybody put me on the right track. The existing HDD is a Toshiba made is it anything to do with that. Sorry for being so long winded

Secret-Squirrel 12:13 01 Jan 2018

Don't waste your time and money on it Dangerous One. The maximum RAM that can be installed is just 192 MB so it'll run like a three-legged dog no matter what you do to it.

dangerusone 13:42 01 Jan 2018

Secret-Squirrel, it's true the maximum memory is 192MB (I put KB in my post) but I can pick one up very cheap and I have two spare hard drives. I just want it to play around with and find out what I can about XP which I've never used before. I'm also fascinated by the mouse ball in the centre of the keyboard, was this just a Toshiba thing. As you say not worth throwing money at. It works quite well as it is even with the spec it has. XP obviously didn't require such a lot to run it. ie HDD and RAM. I've never come across a 4GB HDD before. There is still 1.6GB free after the OS.

Aitchbee 14:57 01 Jan 2018

I've never come across a 4GB HDD before.

... just so happens to be the maximum capacity that Amiga computers can handle!

Secret-Squirrel 16:18 01 Jan 2018

..... but I can pick one up very cheap .........

Adding an extra 64MB won't help much and you'll still be massively disappointed with its performance.

......I have two spare hard drives.............. There is still 1.6GB free after the OS.