Accessing NTL Webspace

Pesala 17:43 11 Feb 2003

I have 10 Mbytes of free webspace with NTL but so far have been unable to figure out how to access it.

I use FTP Commander to manage two website, but I can get started with the NTL space.

Customer homepage URL format:
homepage.ntlworld.com/user.name
FTP Server upload.ntlworld.com
User Name = your username
Password = your password

I entered the details for FTP Server, User Name, and Password, what more do I need to do? Please excuse my ignorance. I am new to this game.

Legolas 17:47 11 Feb 2003

On the NTL website they give you a run down on how to set up aN FTP account click here

Pesala 18:33 11 Feb 2003

Give me a break. I might be stuck, but I'm not daft. I got a friend to try and help me when he came round, but he could not help either.

I though there must be at least a 100 people here who use NTL webspace. If it is easy, please tell me how.

Falkyrn 18:46 11 Feb 2003

You shouldn't need to do anything else ... but ensure that the username and the password are those originally supplied when your account was opened

jazzypop 18:51 11 Feb 2003

I find it very easy - but then I publish direct from FrontPage to NTL.

As you say, you simply use the address of ftp :// upload.ntlworld.com (without the spaces), and type your username (the bit before @ntlworld.com in your email address) and password. At the risk of being on the receiving end of another scathing comment, are you certain that you are using the right password? Mine begins p09 followed by another 7 numbers, and is different to my email password.

Finally, have you checked the NTL status page? It may simply be that NTL are having problems at their end. See click here

Pesala 19:29 11 Feb 2003

When I click on my defined server in FTP Commander I see a message in the status bar:

Connecting to upload.ntlworld.com

Next message is: Password required for Pesala

Then PASS ****