Hot Topics

4/4 WD 10TB Elements drives not showing.

bosharpe 16:19 09 Jan 2020

I’ve bought and owned 4 X 10TB WD Elements external HDs for a few months now. I’m a videographer so need lots of space to store projects and footage. three of the 4 WD drives are suddenly no longer showing up when connected. I’ve tried to initialize them but get the message ‘the request failed due to a fatal device hardware error’. I’ve gone into device manager and unchecked the ‘allow the computer to turn off this device to save power’ box too. Changed cables and ports as well to be sure. I’ve also recently bought a top notch Dell laptop for remote editing so have been recently plugging my storage drives into the laptop. Are the drives buggered, or could this be something to do with my new Dell, or is there anything else I’m missing? Really would appreciate the help as I’m unable to work!

bosharpe 17:34 09 Jan 2020

UPDATE: It seems 3/4 drives are currently doing the same thing. On Disk Management these all show with 0MB capacity. I’ve downloaded the free version of Mini Tools to try and scan for issues but still nothing. This is truly weird as I was using them all fine until some hours ago. They can’t have all died at once?

Fruit Bat /\0/\ 17:38 09 Jan 2020

If you initialise them you will lose everything on them.

Hardware error does not sound good - the fact you can see them in disk management (File explorer) probably means the USB3 connection is OK, otherwise I would have suggested opening the case and removing the HDDs to connect direct to a sata port on the mother board of a desktop. If you open them up then the warranty will probably become invalid and at a only few months old I would want my money back.

These drives are externally powered can you fell any vibration or Leds lit when switched on?

bosharpe 17:53 09 Jan 2020

Led is blinking. No vibration though, which is a good point you bring up. Usually there is something gyrating inside I can feel through the case.