New First Time Self Build Advice

Sasume33 19:08 26 Oct 2017

Hi, So well it is my first time doing a self build PC. Had a friend helping me out choosing parts just wanted to know if everything works together and in your expert opinion would you change anything? Bare in mind I'm not looking for a beast. I'm just way behind in my gaming days and anything that would tear down games back in time would be appreciated. Witcher 3 as the limit does not have to be on Ultra Details.

Specs: Motherboard: GIGABYTE Intel H110 GA-H110M-H (Socket 1151) Micro ATX Motherboard DDR3 CPU: Intel Core i5 6500 3.2GHz Socket 1151 6MB L3 Graph. Card: Well that is a pickle either GTX 1050 or GTX 1060 RAM: Kingston 8GB DDR3 1600MHz Power Supply: Corsair VS Series 450 Watt Power Supply Drive: Kingston SSDNow UV400 240GB 2.5inch SATAIII SSD

Thanks in advance for the tech support!

Menzie 01:37 27 Oct 2017

Is there any reason in particular that you're going for the old gen Intel chips and not a more recent one?

I'd also go for 16GB of RAM for anything gaming related these days.

Sasume33 02:39 27 Oct 2017

I'm not looking for anything "these days". I'm aiming more for back in the days.

Examples: Crysis, Mass Effect, Oblivion, Skyrim, Dead Space, DMC, Prototype, Borderlands, Witcher

In this area, so well they are kind of old but well I did not play them yet well maby only 1st parts of them but the newer ones no, so that is what I'm aiming for and for that reason I do not need a rocket ship I need a semi high end gaming PC because if anything I can always upgrade parts of the PC in the future if there will be a need for it

Menzie 00:06 28 Oct 2017

Those components should work for the games you mentioned.

However as you are looking for my opinion. I wouldn't build a PC using a CPU that is several generations old. Generally in retail the older CPUs aren't much different in price.