Wifi in stone house with 2 electrical circuits

DebCrouch 08:53 27 Jul 2019

We have a home with all thick walls between all rooms but the added complication that we have 2 electrical socket circuits so we can only reach part of the house with wifi powerlines. The remaining part and upstairs above we can only reach with a long extension lead with another wifi powerline plugged in so not very pretty. I've been looking at the great mesh reviews here and especially interested at those with added powerline functionality but my concern is that with the additional socket circuit we still wont be able to make this work. Any ideas or advice would be gratefully received please. Thanks Deb.

Forum Editor 09:35 27 Jul 2019

Most houses have separate ring-main circuits for different floors. Powerline adapters can certainly work across two circuits, but you may encounter problems specific to your circuits.

I have had no personal experience with the Mesh technologies, but it looks good in principle.

wee eddie 09:49 27 Jul 2019

If you have a single entry point and meter, you should be OK with the Powerline Kit

john bunyan 19:27 27 Jul 2019

I have a similar house, and after looking at reviews , bought a mesh / LAN set up : Devolo Magic 2 a starter kit is here

Amazon